The Savoie is an annex country, two departments that still bear his name while the French Republican rule requires that the names of the departments do reference to geography.

The Savoie became French after the Treaty of Turin from March 24, 1860.

The signatories of the Treaty of annexation were Victor Emmanuel II, Duke of Savoy and King of Sardinia and Napoleon III Emperor of the French. A secret memorandum provided for entry of the French troops in the Savoie region upon ratification of the Treaty. According to article 1 of this Treaty the populations concerned should be consulted.